Women, Art and Illness

“I am not sick. I am broken and as long as I can paint I am happy to be alive.”

– Frida Kahlo

A couple of weeks ago, I pressed my face against mortality after collapsing in my bathroom at 6 in the morning. Chaos ensued.

I was not cognizant of the urgency of my wife screaming, my mother-in-law, the nurse, telling her what to do while dialing 911. When someone who is otherwise healthy loses consciousness, it is cause for alarm.

Needless to say, I survived.

Although not without some injuries.

On my way to the floor, my body crumpled in on itself like a skyscraper on demolition day. I broke one foot and damaged ligaments in the opposite leg. I still have bruises. Luckily, I did not have what was widely suspected, a seizure disorder.

But this post is not about me, necessarily.

Frida Kahlo, artist-family and friends and the writer I am linking to below are inspirations to me.

http://beautifulwreck1.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/beautiful-wreck-the-book/

Stephanie Schroeder is another blogger and writer I have gotten to know through her magazine writing and columns. She is based in Brooklyn, NY and I invite you to take a look at her work and her very personal experience as a person with Bipolar Disorder.

It is often through illness and struggle that women have found art to express their strength. As I sit at home, unable to go to a job I love or be the active and energetic woman I am, writing this blog and knowing someone is reading and perhaps relating to my posts has kept me going.

My gratitude dear reader, for being such a part of my healing and recovery.

Ciaran

5 thoughts on “Women, Art and Illness

  1. Wow, thanks so much for writing such kinds words about me and my writing and for linking to my blog. You have plenty of inspiring women who have artistically paved the path a better place. Hugs, Stephanie

Comments are closed.