Amazing Women: While we’re on the subject, here’s another!

When I first moved to Winnipeg, I earnestly wanted to get involved in the LGBT community and went to a spoken word, reading/performance by an amazing woman named Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha.

She was art and colour, wisdom and rebellion wrapped up in talent when I watched her read and interviewed her.

It was definitely 6 or 7 years ago now and while I am certain she spoke with hundreds of media folks since, I was hooked.

I wanted to see where this woman went in life and I was inspired to keep the fire of art and activism alive in my life.

If you haven’t somewhere encountered her yet, please take a moment and follow this link:

http://www.brownstargirl.org/

You will be happy you did! Much respect to her and her work. If you believe in it, support her!

