What Do You See?

What Do You See?

copyright Laura Aguilar

“Keeping your body healthy is an expression of gratitude to the whole cosmos — the trees, the clouds, everything.”    

Thich Nhat Hanh

We women have had weight  issues shoved down our throats like fingers.

This is why I love Laura Aguilar’s photography. To the brainwashed viewer, perhaps this image looks grotesque or perhaps it’s like looking in a mirror.

Provocative used to mean, inspiring discussion not laying a young blond across a sports car to help a company make money.

I like this picture because it rarely inspires a neutral response.

 Sit with it, meditate on it for a while and search what meaning it holds for you.

I’m not here to tell you anything you don’t already know about the ‘facts’ of weight.

It can lay on your chest like a feeling of personal failure if you’ve battled with it all your life.

Some people don’t want to admit they think its sexy.

Fat is healthy or it can kill, like thin can, really when you think about it.

For me, fat was something people warned me about as a child. I was  called ‘cow’ or ‘moose’ or any other number of things. I’m no larger than a lot of women, bigger than some, smaller than others.

Some of those words I internalized and some I embraced and tried to remember, before I got married, I had a rich and wonderful dating life, social life and no one ever asked me to leave when I undressed in front of them.

My best revenge from my teenage tormentors is that I am living well. I hope you can live well too.

No one is more worthy of your love than you are.

monkiss

6 thoughts on “What Do You See?

  1. It took me a minute to figure out what I was seeing. It disturbed me because I’m afraid it’s the way I see myself. Thank you!

Comments are closed.