Empower!

I’ve learned that you shouldn’t go through life with a catcher’s mitt on both hands; you need to be able to throw something back. – Maya Angelou.

I went to the office today and I brought a baseball bat. Figuratively speaking.

After busting my legs in a fall 2 weeks after my surgery, my immediate co workers have been wonderful, supportive and encouraging.

The upper echelons however, have been kicking me when I’m down with policy and procedure.

After angry phone calls and spinning my wheels with the treatment I was receiving, I declared, “that’s enough! Someone needs to do something about this because I’m not going to take it anymore!”

I might not be good at everything but I am DAMN good at my job.

The love, commitment and joy I feel for the boys I care for is boundless. Money, hours and policy be-damned, they need care and I make myself available as they need me. Right now, I couldn’t feel more powerless.

A wonderful woman in a position of power heard my voice, listened and agreed, enough is enough and said here’s how I’m going to fight for you.

Scream, yell, let yourself be heard, don’t back down no matter what the consequences might be. Fight for your justice and don’t allow anyone to treat you badly, in life, in love at work or anywhere else.

We are worth troubling other people, inconveniencing someone for the benefit of self-care

Your own integrity and self worth depends on it.

2 thoughts on “Empower!

Comments are closed.