All Families Are Psychotic…or are they?

Without hyperbole or exaggeration, I was inspired to write a post about my family and in short:

Shameless is a tv show about a white trash family with screwed up parents where the oldest girl is the only authority figure. She plays mom, cook, counsellor to her bipolar mom who refuses treatment and her drunk dad.

Yep!

They had me knocking down the door to the guidance counsellor’s office when I was fifteen. I was attempting to negotiate my way into government custody. I was unsuccessful.

In a house like that…you have to wait to have your angsty “am I or am I not a lesbian?” That comes when you move out on your own and discover the question and the answer to all life’s problems…alcohol!

Homer knows his stuff!

“I like my beer cold… my TV loud… and my homosexuals flaming.”–Homer Simpson

The End

3 thoughts on “All Families Are Psychotic…or are they?

  1. p.s the above is not meant as a self-pity party or to trivialise other people’s experiences. It’s just a short journal entry about my own experience as it happened. Dark humour is therapeutic!

  2. I watched an episode last week and honestly do not know, if I like the series or not. I guess in some ways it is too “real” for me. Watching TV is a form of escape from daily life for me. But maybe I will give it a second chance.
    I really wish that your past has not scarred you for life. My post yesterday was based on a talk by Jane Fonda. In it she said; “Now while I was writing about this, I came upon a book called “Man’s Search for Meaning” by Viktor Frankl. Viktor Frankl was a German psychiatrist who’d spent five years in a Nazi concentration camp. And he wrote that, while he was in the camp, he could tell, should they ever be released, which of the people would be okay and which would not. And he wrote this: ‘Everything you have in life can be taken from you except one thing, your freedom to choose how you will respond to the situation. This is what determines the quality of the life we’ve lived — not whether we’ve been rich or poor, famous or unknown, healthy or suffering. What determines our quality of life is how we relate to these realities, what kind of meaning we assign them, what kind of attitude we cling to about them, what state of mind we allow them to trigger.'”
    This sounds plausible to me. I too have experienced “bad” things in my childhood. But the way I live, no one would guess it. Of course I have my issues because of these experiences but I am lucky to have a partner, who supports me in this quest and showers me with love when I feel vulnerable.
    Didn’t mean to overwhelm you with this comment. Wish you a happy day! Cheers!

    • I actually read that Viktor Frankl book in university, it was excellent!
      It doesn’t actually bother me anymore, it’s more fodder for humour now but thank you for your compassionate and thoughtful words Irene 🙂

Comments are closed.