Back in the saddle

The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life.
Richard Bach

Most of my nearest and dearest have no genetic link to me at all. They are people who I met by chance, through working together or caring for them in my work; I love them dearly all the same.

Today, I got to attend a meeting with all of my coworkers and friends again and got to see the boys I work with, it was wonderful!

I haven’t seen any of my coworkers in 2 months and only phone conversations with my boss; who, by the way, is the BEST boss I have ever, ever had in my life.

This guy fought for me when my company was following policy and ruining my life while I was on sick leave.
He is clear, honest, has high expectations, and because he works hard and demands so much for himself, he makes you want to work as hard as possible for him in return.

The joy on their faces and the happiness in their eyes, conversations and smiles was such a welcome change. There were hugs and smiles and jokes about my useless legs all around. I knew I missed them, I just didn’t realise how much.

The hardest thing these past weeks has been the isolation and the knowledge of how much they need me back and miss me.
The knowledge I could do nothing more to help than answer the phone.

Now I’m back to the family I joined, on a short term basis and even that’s enough.

3 thoughts on “Back in the saddle

Comments are closed.