Dear Mr.Harper, meet the Radical Handmaids won’t you?

“Maybe none of this is about control. Maybe it isn’t really about who can own whom, who can do what to whom and get away with it, even as far as death. Maybe it isn’t about who can sit can who has to kneel or stand or lie down, legs spread open. Maybe it’s about who can do what to whom and be forgiven for it. Never tell me it amounts to the same thing.” Chapter 23Margaret Atwood, A Handmaid’s Tale

Dear Stephen Harper:

I see what you’re doing and I don’t like it one god damned bit.

Cutting the time the public has to respond to environmental assessments, dismantling social programs, under funding Aboriginal education programs and this….motion 312. You and your politics sicken me.

As feminists, we are the victors of small battles but we’re miles away from winning the war against your kind. And by that, I don’t mean men (some men are awesome, supportive allies) I mean conservatives, religious right, classist, white people who suffer from entitlement issues.

In a previous post I wrote called: my body, my rights, I mentioned motion 312 – this is a Canadian Conservative government initiative to decide when ‘life begins’ in the womb.

A body of male politicians will be working on this report with no input, it would appear, from the 51% of people in this country who it affects most.

This is what women in this country are doing about it:

I am not just ranting about this, I’ve done something about it as well. I wrote my local Member of Parliament saying that this was disgraceful and I did not want her to support it.

I read online she is choosing not to support it because apparently, she has received from pressure from her constituents. YAY!!!

Personally, pregnancy is not something I have to worry about on a day-today basis, but my straight female friends do.

If they don’t have access to safe and affordable birth control and reproductive health options, then I’m going to join in the fight. My straight friends were allies in the fight for same-sex marriage, I support their right to choose.

The more voices, the harder it will be to ignore us…I’m not easily ignored Mr. Harper 😉

8 thoughts on “Dear Mr.Harper, meet the Radical Handmaids won’t you?

  1. Pingback: Link to Petition to Oppose Motion 312 | noroom4angels

  2. whose to say which side gets to decide what a fetus is? I think it was already decided. Why be so angry about abortion. It’s like all feminists are standing there with baby bumps despirate to get someone to hose em out. Im sorry I like you and I like independence But I can not understand all this anger women have over wanting the right to terminate their “fetuses”. Plus all the rage of wanting to make sure the law doesn’t say that the baby is human.

    • Thanks for sharing your opinion Carla, I respect that about you, that you’re not afraid to stand up for what you believe in too.

      I don’t know if I can offer a short response to this.

      I don’t stand for all feminists and I’ve never had to agonise over an unplanned pregnancy.

      For me and my own thoughts on a heated and divisive subject isn’t because I don’t respect life, it’s because women are already born with the short end of the stick and can’t always access birth control or adequate medical care.

      Abortions have been happening for centuries and women have been dying for need to terminate pregnancies whatever their reasons…

      We should be allowed to terminate an unwanted pregnancy without taking poisons or inserting instruments into ourselves.

      That’s why keeping abortion legal and granting access to medical assistance or counselling for the reasons the pregnanct occured may help a woman prevent it from happening again.

      My 2 cents 🙂

      • I was ready for your response and I knew that you would be respectful. I hope you didn’t feel like I was saying anything out of anger. I honestly see it that way at times. In conversation and on TV and I can’t understand the negative feelings that get stirred up. You know how I believe and I feel strongly about it. I try not to argue with anyone about how they believe when it is differnet from mine. Abortion is a little hard though. Think about it if you saw it my way. It looks like women just have no maternal instinct and since I believe with my whole heart that a fetus is a growing baby, it seems like almost a cry out for murder. But I try to keep it to myself. I felt comfortable enough with you to ask the questions I’ve been wanting to ask somebody lol. But as a person I respect you and think you are a very loving and considerate person. Also a great blogger!

        • Thanks Carla! I respect your opinion as much as I respect my own. That’s why free speech is important 🙂 And I feel like if it was up to you and me, the world would be a happier and more peaceful place. I get your point and I used to think the same things. We wouldn’t need abortion if women’s bodies weren’t assaulted in other ways, i.e, unwilling sex, rape, child molestation…But that’s a whole other blog! Thanks for the chat!

  3. Good for you. The only way to make change is to stand up for what you believe in. Sadly not enough people are brave enough to do so! Bravo! 🙂

    • Thanks mskatykins! It can be hard if you’re the only one or a small group. It leaves you open to hostility and criticism, so I understand it’s not for everyone 🙂

Comments are closed.