The Beautiful Process

I miss the love of parents.

As an orphan of sorts, I am always very sad around mother’s day, father’s day and Christmas.
Until today….I felt the love of mother universe.

A blogger whose posts I read regularly, Cauldrons and Cupcakes, is the inspiration I’ve found for this post.

I realised, I had a mother for a very short time in my life and I never really had a Dad but I was blessed with the gift of being a nurturer to others.

As a disability support worker, I spend my work hours making a house a home to youth with disabilities.

When their parents can’t be there, I get peed on, nurse them through fevers, worry about them when they’re having a bad day, cry with them, laugh with them, tuck them in at night and do their laundry.

I welcome them home from school and I am always sincerely happy to see them. These boys occupy my waking hours with stress and love the way I imagine my own children will some day.

I love them as the imperfect being that I am, sometimes short on patience and scatter-brained.

They have given me the treasure of experiencing unconditional mother love – on the giving end instead of the receiving.

Either way it’s beautiful to me and I’m humbled by the hard work, honoured to do it and to see happiness.

Never, for a second, will I or any of my coworkers replace their own family, their own moms in their lives but they have enriched my life for allowing me into the intimate parts of it in ways that are very important and special to me.

As for my wife, I am a nurturer and supporter there too.

I know her secret fears and hurts and take them into my heart one by one.

She mothers me in return and is my first life experience with unconditional love.

I was 30 years old before I knew what it felt like to have that and I still can’t believe myself when I say or do something, only to find her right there, loving me through my tears all the same.

This Mother’s Day, I will be thinking of my wife, my work, my life and all the ways that mothering touches my world and enriches my life.

Even though the woman who gave me life is gone, I still know a mother’s love.

Mothers are the people who love us for no good reason. And those of us who are mothers know it’s the most exquisite love of all. -Maggie Gallagher

4 thoughts on “The Beautiful Process

  1. What a sensitive and caring post, monkiss. It made me cry.
    Those children are lucky to have you in their lives. We all need to be mothered by others, not just by our birth mother. Sometimes we even need to be able to mother ourselves

    And to have a partner who loves you unconditionally – I so relate to the life changing and life affirming energy that gifts us.

    For me, family is about far more than who we are connected to by birth – and for so many of us, family is defined by the love that connects us, no matter what our origins were. Like you I have spent today honouring mothering energies in my life.

    Rich blessings to you and your wife, and all my love xx

  2. that is beautiful Monkiss, but sad too, because you really deserve to have a mother, a real mother of your own. I am glad that you are looking at things as they are and finding fulfillment in the opportunities around you. God bless you for being there for others who’s mothers aren’t there for them hugs

Comments are closed.