“I Gotta Get Some Fucking Friends”

Bro dates are stressful

“There were tons of guys who were licking each others basses.” -Peter Klaven

I’ve been moping about for about a year about friends that have moved on/life paths taking us in different directions.

When I met my pal D. from a training session, I thought, here’s a cool chick, I think I’d like to get to know her.

So when LGBT Pride came and we ran into each other in the city, I decided it was time to give her a call and hang out.

After all, it’s been a year since we’ve seen each other.

As the day came and I was supposed to be at her house at the appointed hour, I panicked.

What if I don’t have a good time? What if we have nothing in common? What if her other friends hate me?

Nervous? Have another beer on your bro date!

My wife, the lovely B. kicked me out the door saying ‘You need this, you’re a social person and you’ve been locked up in the house since you got sick.’

I reluctantly got in the cab and kissed my wife good bye.

It’s nerve wracking to be making friends in your thirties. What else is nerve wracking is being housebound for a number months and then going out for beers with people you don’t know in a packed bar.

But it was great.

For me, it was a reminder of the young anxious person I was who drank more than was healthy to handle the stress of being in a bar full of lesbians. To some people it’s heaven, to me, sensory overload/anxiety inducing paralysis.

After hours of raucous laughter and libation, I came home, slurred the story of the night’s events of hugs and dancing, shots and spanks, (yes spanks) to my wife who shook her head lovingly, nursed me through my being sick and listened to my guilt about over indulging on the drink.

But it went well. I made some friends and had a good time. In spite of myself.

Short story, I think I made a good friend…I hope…I did? Meh, it’s all good.

Laters on the menjay

5 thoughts on ““I Gotta Get Some Fucking Friends”

  1. Great post, love the ‘I Love You Man’ refs the whole way through and what a great post to end on!

    This is one really great reason for having a wife – she will hold your hair back when you’re being sick! 🙂 It sounds like you had a great, great night – fantastic! 🙂 It’s very difficult to make friends where we live, it’s quite an insular community. So you end up with work friends and few people outwith that circle. I’ll soon be moving back home to Glasgow and going to Uni where I’ll have to go through the friend making process… as a mature student. Yeeshk!

Comments are closed.