Thanking Your Suffering

“Smooth seas do not make skillful sailors.” – Proverb

I have posted so many rants and anecdotes about what’s not worked and what’s been difficult to deal with, that it only seems right that I should let you in on the wonderful in my life.

It reminds of the quote about the lotus flower needing the mud. In order to grow and be beautiful, it requires a little mud and a little rain. And thus, so do our lives.

What makes my life awesome right now is:

My official acceptance letter for university arrived yesterday. weeeee!

I got the job I’ve been wanting for a year!

Dear B. and I are taking our dates to the gym and it’s really eliciting some lovely results.

My neurological tests are slowly coming back to show the seizures/fainting spells I suffered which made me housebound in the winter are anomalies! No chronic illness to indicate more seizures. Phew!

It’s raining today and I LOOOOOVE the rain and cool weather 🙂

What’s making your life awesome? Are you in your period of adversity before the triumph??

In honour of triumph over adversity, some quotes!

“There is no education like adversity” – Benjamin Disraeli

“It is under the greatest adversity that there exists the greatest potential for doing good, both for oneself and others.”

We shall draw from the heart of suffering itself the means of inspiration and survival.
Winston Churchill

To live is to suffer, to survive is to find some meaning in the suffering.
Friedrich Nietzsche

Peace and wellness to you, my blog friends, monkiss

18 thoughts on “Thanking Your Suffering

  1. It sounds like things are moving in the right direction for you and that is really wonderful to hear, buddy! Just enjoy it!

    Congrats, big style, on the job and the uni acceptance! I know how excited I was when my confirmation email came through (Glasgow apparently are going eco friendly now, so no snail mail for us now, ironic eh? 😉 )

    What else is going well for me. Well, one of my fellow bloggers, Starstorm, has invited me to do a collaboration with him on a comic strip thing. I am nowhere near as talented as him and have no idea what the hell I can contribute to the venture, but am totally thrilled to have been asked so that’s pretty sweet, eh? 🙂

    • cool! keep me posted so I can check out your new endeavor! (spelling of that word??)lol…

      LMAO the irony of no snail mail is not lost on me, or cyril and willy i imagine! I love those 2 😀

      congrats also friend, glasgow uni…supes cool!

      • Thank you for your encouragement, when I got the pitch through last night, my man immediately told me that drawing isn’t my strength and that he doesn’t understand why this guy would be keen for me to help… He didn’t word the last part entirely like that, but it was the gist… grr! (I know I’m not great at drawing, thanks for reminding me, buddy.)

        Sorry, what a needless rant. Sorry, I was just a little pissed off about it.

        • I’m sorry he said that to you. man, that would rain on anyone’s parade.
          clearly the guy saw something. maybe your man is a little jealous that you’re pursuing your creative side. still gives him no right to stomp on your aspirations..
          …no such thing as a needless rant!
          sometimes a good rant just gets out the garbage for ya and helps you keep going.
          you’re awesome!

          • Thank you, I really appreciate that! 🙂

            One of my weaknesses is that I really take things to heart. I’m also very stubborn and really determined too. (so hopefully it evens things out, or just makes me look crazy, ha!).

            I am going to give it a go, it’s a new challenge, right? Thank you! 🙂

          • embrace a new challenge and even if you fail, you no longer have to say, gee, i wonder what would’ve happened…i know, i take things super-personally too. and you’re welcome!!

          • You are so right!

            I was looking through my drawings for this children’s picture book I’m working on and I felt a little bit better about myself. 🙂

  2. Wonderful entry. I know right now I’m going through some stressful times and I would REALLY like to pull through them. They say it only makes you stronger. Well, it is true. Thank you for sharing this insight!

    • My pleasure friend 🙂
      I find it helps to use “this too shall pass” as a mantra, or something like it, to remind myself good times and bad times all ebb & flow and life always comes back to equillibrium. I wish for happy things in your future.

Comments are closed.